Unable to Update Tenant Member Roles when All Roles are Deselected
Last Updated:
Overview
This article explains how to resolve an issue when trying to deselect all roles for a tenant member. Despite pressing the Update button, no changes seem to be made to the tenant's settings.
Applies To
- Member Roles
Cause
If all roles are deselected, the Update button will not initiate any changes to the tenant settings.
Solution
This is because Auth0 requires a minimum of one active role for a tenant user in order for the update process to take effect.
Steps:
- Ensure that at least one active role is selected for the tenant member.
- Click the Update button.
- Verify that the changes have been saved.
If the intention is to remove all roles from a tenant member, the recommended action is to delete the tenant member entirely. This can be done through the Auth0 Dashboard by going to the Settings > Tenant Members selecting the relevant tenant member's three dots on the right side, and then deleting the desired tenant member.
Please note the following points:
- Only administrators have the necessary permissions to modify tenant member roles.
- If the person who wants to make those changes is not an Admin, please contact an Admin within the Tenant to perform these actions.
- Exercise caution when deleting a tenant member, as this action is irreversible and may affect other system processes that rely on this member.